IPL player retention 2018 Results & Updates

IPL player retention 2018: Chennai Super Kings picked MS Dhoni while Indian captain Virat Kohli was retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore during the much-publicised yet predictable Indian Premier League retentions here this evening.

While there were not many surprises during the process of ipl player retention event, The non-retention of Gautam Gambhir would surely have surprised many Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) fans.

KKR, who won the IPL in 2012 and 2014, retained the West Indian duo of Sunil Narine and Andre Russell. However, the Shah Rukh Khan-co-owned side decided to let go Gautam Gambhir, who had led the side to two IPL titles in space of three years.

Mumbai Indians had the league's most successful captain Rohit Sharma back in their stable as most of the retentions happened on expected lines.

Rajasthan Royals retained Steve Smith while his counterpart David warner was retained by Sunrisers Hyderabad along with pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Image Source: Times of India
The franchises that has gone for full three retentions are CSK, Mumbai Indians, Delhi Daredevils and RCB.

For Mumbai Indians, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah are second and third retentions.

CSK have retained their powerhouse performers Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina as their second and third choice respectively.

AB de Villiers is RCB's second retention while they have kept uncapped Sarfaraz Khan for Rs 3 crore while putting Chris Gayle back in the auction pool.

RCB team director Amrit Thomas said: "Virat and AB retain themselves. In Sarfaraz, we wanted to invest in youth as he is a phenomenal player."

You may also like...

No comments:

Post a Comment